Log in

Sheila Robertson Award

Sheila Robertson Award for National Sport Organizations and Multi-Sport Organizations


The recipient of this award is selected by Coaches of Canada’s Awards Committee. Each member of the awards committee, following the criteria below, monitors NSO and MSO websites and news releases to assess how it “values the coach”. The organization:

  • Ensures the consistent presence of its coaches on the website and in publications
  • Distributes news releases announcing coach appointments
  • Ensures that when an athlete wins, the primary coach is recognized in media coverage with names of developmental coaches also mentioned
  • Posts detailed coaches’ profiles on website
  • Offers annual coaching awards
  • Demonstrates in hiring practices and employment practices that the NSO/MSO values its coaches
  • Names coaches to Board of Directors and relevant committees
  • Makes coaches part of the senior management team that provides and drives the NSO/MSO vision

The 2014  Selection Committee consists of Sheila Robertson, Chair; Denise Vourtzoumis, Director at Large, Non-coaching function, Marc Bowles, ChPC, and Heather Fraser, ChPC

Past Winners:

2005: Canadian Yachting Association
2006: Diving Canada
2007: Skate Canada
2008: Skate Canada
2009: Athletics Canada
2010: Swimming Canada
2011: Taekwondo Canada
2012: Speed Skating Canada
2013: Rowing Canada
2014: Hockey Canada

To nominate an NSO or MSO,  please e-mail a letter demonstrating how the nominee meets the award criteria to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by fax to 613.235.9500 or by mail to Coaching Association of Canada, 201-1155 Lola St., Ottawa, Ontario K1K 4C1.

Nominate an organization TODAY!

Nomination for the 2015 competition is currently closed

Unable to get latest tweets at this time.