Log in

Jack Donohue Award

Jack Donohue Award

Jack Donohue “Coach of the Year”

The recipient of this award is selected by the Board of Directors of Coaches of Canada and is honoured at the annual Petro-Canada Sport Leadership sportif Awards Dinner.

The nomination should demonstrate how the coach meets the following criteria:

  • Possesses all the characteristics that made Jack Donohue a legendary coach
  • Demonstrates a proven capacity to improve athlete/team performance
  • Has achieved a level of success in international competition
  • Applies relevant training theory and coaching practices
  • Demonstrates concern for Long-term Athlete Development
  • Demonstrates care and concern for colleagues
  • Presents a strong and morale public image
  • Demonstrates a philosophy of fair play
  • Is a member in good standing with Coaches of Canada

Third-party testimonials must accompany the nomination.

The 2014 Selection Committee consists of Sheila Robertson, Chair; Denise Vourtzoumis, Director at Large, Non-coaching function; Marc Bowles, ChPC, and Heather Fraser, ChPC. 

Past Winners:

2003: Michel Larouche, ChPC

2004: Kelly Manjak, ChPC

2005: Patrick Oaten, ChPC

2006: Xiuli Wang, ChPC

2007: Paul Kristofic, ChPC

2008: Tim Frick, ChPC

2009: Steve Bush, ChPC

2010: Melody Davidson, ChPC

2011: Marcel Lacroix, ChPC

2012: David Ross, ChPC

2013: Joan McDonald, ChPC

2014: Gerry Dragomir, ChPC

Nominations can be submitted online through the link below, or by emailing a letter outlining how the nominee meets the above criteria to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Nominate a coach TODAY!

Nomination Deadline: Wednesday September 10, 2014

Unable to get latest tweets at this time.